Hello world!

Wow!  Is this real?  Me…*gulp*…blogging?  I used to think that blogs were only reserved for “those” people…”other” people – the experts, the ones with families, the famous, the ones wise enough to say things that the world wants to hear.  I am none of those things. 

I’m simply a “normal” person who genuinely and idealistically believes, with every fiber of my being, that everyone should attempt to live life to its fullest.  For me, that means surrounding myself by people who enrich my life and challenge me.  It means eating good meals (and sometimes, overeating) and savoring different tastes and flavors, and often pairing them with good drinks (wine, beer, iced tea…whatever works at the time).  It means traveling and being affected and impacted by every new place and event and person I experience along the way.  It means takings some risks and seeking adventure or even in the confines of daily life, appreciating all the little details that alter or develop my perspective.  It means keenly observing, intensely analyzing (I am a perfectionistic Type A, after all), feeding an insatiable desire to learn, and forming A LOT of thoughts and opinions in the process!

I needed an outlet for it all.  No one in the world has enough time or energy to listen to all of my stories, rants, theories or musings, nor should they.  A friend recently asked me about a vacation I took and when I gave her highlights, she didn’t respond.  Later, she apologized for ignoring my remarks and told me that she was just jealous of my experiences but did eventually want to hear about them.  That was an “aha!” moment for me.  I applauded her honesty and didn’t view her comment in a negative light.  It just made me realize that no one needs (or sometimes, wants) to listen to my thoughts or share in my experiences. 

So, I decided that ultimately, this blog is for me.  It’s my place to put down my thoughts.  It’s my time capsule, my creative outlet and my cathartic way to put whatever is on my mind out into the world.  If anyone wants to experience the journey with me, you are welcome…but not obligated. 🙂


Leave a comment